With i Tunes, you can manage the content on your i Phone, i Pad, or i Pod by manually syncing specific items to your device.If you have i Cloud Music Library turned on, you can't manually manage music, but you can still manage videos using the steps below.

updating ipod without losing music-84updating ipod without losing music-47

I am trying to upgrade my father's i Pad 1 to i OS 5 using a brand new Windows 7 profile on my laptop.

When I enable them, i Tunes warns me that by doing that the i Pad content will be by the computer content, which would be absolutely nothing. First, make sure that i Tunes is signed into the i Pad owner's Apple account. Once the update is installed, it will then restore all the prior apps, data, music, movies, pictures and books the tablet. (This is based on my experience upgrading an i Phone 4 from i OS 4 to 5.) Two hours later, a near bricking of the device later, many driver installs and reboots and a couple error codes later, much much clicking later, I now have an i Pad that has "magically" lost 11 GB of data, plus the entire configuration of all the home screens.

As all i Pod owners might know, it isn’t possible to sync your i Pod with more than one computer.

But what if this computer (with which you sync the i Pod) dies? So keep reading to see how you can sync your i Pod with a new computer without the risk of losing data.

He was allegedly told by an Apple representative that his files were deleted without his permission when he signed up for Apple Music.

Pinkstone says the Apple rep told him Apple Music replaced his songs with cloud-based versions from its digital collection, deleting the originals in the process.It is best if this is done in a separate login account on the computer so you do not loose any of your saved apps and backed up data. I can't even bring myself to downvote you, because it seems this is just how things are supposed to work?!Then from there once you plug it in to a full backup to the computer, no upgrading yet! I'm so confused and worried and disappointed right now. An UAC elevation and a trip to the services interface later, i Tunes informed me that if I didn't transfer purchases to my computer I'd lose them, and asked me if I wanted to continue. A cancel and a right click on i Pad → Transfer purchases later, i Tunes told me that the upgrade would wipe the i Pad completely clean and that I'd need to sync everything beforehand, and asked me if I wanted to continue... Upgrading while losing all the data or doing syncronization? The i Pad "tabs" show all sync options are disabled. How can I upgrade an i Pad (or an i Pod) to a newer version of i OS using a brand new computer without losing data in the process? Would a backup include the current version of i OS, making the restoring process undo the upgrade in the first place? I plugged the i Pad in, and it complained because the relevant Windows service was down.As I have mentioned in other Quora answers, what Apple means by the word "Sync" is "Copy stuff from the computer to the i Device" regardless of whether that makes sense to the user.